Focaccia Bread Struggles 🍞

So I was eating at an Italian restaurant yesterday and they were serving free bread. And nope, they didn’t serve Focaccia bread. I was a bit disappointed because Focaccia bread always goes so well with the balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Still, the normal bread was good. But my craving for Focaccia bread wasn’t appeased, so I said what the heck? Let’s make some Focaccia Bread!

My Bread Making Skills

Let me warn you. I am a beginner when it comes to bread. I’ve only made two things with bread: first, a cinnamon roll, which was a moderate success (I mean you could never go wrong with cinnamon); second, a pizza dough which was a major fail. I killed the yeast because the water was too warm.

So if you’re looking for expert advice, I’m probably not the best person to ask. But if you’re a kindred beginner or you’re a reader who wants to read my struggles to make bread, go ahead and read the rest of this post. 🙌

This is the recipe that I used to make the bread.

 

My Struggles

Looking back, I knew what my first mistake was: the dough wasn’t ready for kneading. There were still bits of dough stuck on the mixing bowl. I reckon I didn’t mix it enough.

Making bread is hard work. My arms were so tired from kneading the dough. Supposedly, 10 to 12 minutes is required if you’re kneading the dough by hand. I was following this site to tell when the dough is kneaded. One easy test is to poke the dough with your finger. If the indentation you made springs back, then you’re good to go. Well, mine didn’t. I kneaded the dough for more than 12 minutes and the indentation only went back slightly. 😢

Can anyone give me advice on this?

One of my suspicions is due to the first mistake I made. Or maybe I added too much flour. I’m not too sure.

Anyways, I kept kneading and kneading all the while thinking of the purpose of kneading; I wanted soft bread and I wasn’t going to give up. Alas, I said enough was enough.  It feels awful to give up. I know I’ve lost the battle but I will win the war… against bread for some reason. 👩‍🍳 vs 🍞

p_20170508_131854_vhdr_auto1.jpg

 

The Result

It was all right. The reason why I thought I made a mistake was because the texture wasn’t as soft and chewy as I expected, but the taste was all right.

I still won’t give up to make a great bread!

 

Baking Life Lesson

You know when you want something to just be right. Well, expectations sometimes differ from reality. But that doesn’t mean we give up if the results end badly. We keep trying because we always learn something from our failures. And maybe next time, we might just succeed.

Leave a Reply

