Mango Pie

To be more exact, it’s a mango-apple pie. Β I used a hybrid fruit: a mango and apple in one. It looks like a mango but it has a reddish-yellow color. I didn’t have any mangoes around. That’s me, you know. I just make use of anything lying around — like an exotic mango-apple fruit. It’s sort of ironic. πŸ€”

I forgot to take a picture of the fruit, but you can search what it looks like.

Also, it’s been a long time since I last posted. Why? I was out of ideas. πŸ˜„ And I didn’t really feel like posting for the sake of posting. It doesn’t feel authentic to me. Feel free to give me ideas on what to make next. I’d be willing to try them. Anyways, let’s go to the mango pie!

I actually referred to two recipes to make the pie: one for the crust, and another for the filling.

This is the recipe for the crust: Homemade Pie Crust Recipe

Pie Dough

This is the recipe for the filling: Caramelized Mangoes Recipe

Mango Filling

Take note that I only made half of the crust recipe and about a fifth of the filling. It’s a mini mango pie!

Mango Pie Unbaked

This is the beautiful result:

Mango Pie

You’re so gorgeous!

I’ll give you a bit of warning though. Don’t cook the mangoes! I didn’t really think it through before I made this. The filling ended up tasting a bit weird because I cooked it beforehand. It was all right, but it was sweet and it tasted overly ripe. My sister and I noted that it smelled like corn. 🌽

What do I suggest?

The recipe for the filling contains mangoes, sugar, water, and butter. Maybe, you can just put the mangoes and sugar in the pie crust and let it caramelize in the oven.

Baking Life Lesson

It may look good on the outside, but it may be bad inside.

Leave a Reply

